CPC Leadership Election SUSPENDED

Home/CPC Leadership Election SUSPENDED
Loading Events

The Leadership Election has been suspended – check here for more details: https://cpc-leadership2020.ca/

Our Leadership Election Organizing Committee (LEOC) has been working hard to set the rules, the candidate application, and other items for the leadership process, and will continue to do so in the coming weeks.

LEOC has heard from members from across Canada, and the overwhelming consensus was that our members wanted a shorter leadership election. This date will provide the right amount of time we need to successfully administer this election, while ensuring we recognize the realities of a minority Parliament.

We believe the date selected will provide an exciting and competitive race for our members and all Canadians, while ensuring an open and fair contest for all potential candidates.

With this timeline, our leadership candidates are going to have their organizational abilities tested, and be given the opportunity to show how they’re ready to take on the tough job of being Canada’s next Prime Minister.

In order to vote in the Conservative Party of Canada’s leadership election, you must hold a valid Conservative Party membership. We encourage anyone interested in voting in the leadership election to purchase or renew their membership now to ensure they are eligible to vote when voting opens.

Thank you for your continued support, and we look forward to sharing more Leadership 2020 updates with you in the future.


Conservative Party of Canada

LEOC -Leadership Election Organizing Committee.

We’ve compiled a team of hardworking, long-time Conservatives to set the rules for, and oversee, the upcoming leadership race.

The 9-person panel is composed of:

Dan Nowlan, Co-Chair

  • Previously, Dan served as chair of the Conservative Party of Canada’s 2016-2017 Leadership Selection Organizing Committee.

Lisa Raitt, Co-Chair

  • Lisa served as a Conservative Member of Parliament from 2008 to 2019. Over that period, she was Deputy Leader of the Opposition and the Conservative Party of Canada, held a number of key cabinet portfolios, and ran as a leadership candidate herself.

Judy Manning

  • Judy served as Newfoundland and Labrador’s Minister of Justice and Public Safety from 2014 to 2015.

Marc-Olivier Fortin

  • Marc-Olivier previously served as a LEOC member

Marie-Josée Guérette

  • Marie-Josée currently works as Executive Vice President of Public Affairs with La Capitale, a financial services and insurance business, primarily based in Quebec, with more than $8 billion in assets and more than 2,600 employees.

Jai Bhatti

  • Jai previously served as a LEOC member.

Lois Brown

  • Lois previously served as a LEOC member.

Sam Magnus

  • Sam previously served as a LEOC member and chair of the resolution/arbitration committee.

Tanya Corbet

  • Tanya was the 2019 Conservative candidate in Delta. She’s also a member of Tsawwassen First Nation (TFN), with past service as an elected executive councillor and an elected commissioner of the BC Treaty Commission.

The Leadership Election Organizing Committee’s next steps will be to determine the time frame for the leadership election, and requirements for leadership applicants.

Details will be released as the Leadership Election Organizing Committee makes decisions surrounding the rules, processes, procedures, and timelines for the Conservative Party’s leadership election.

In addition to the members listed in the previous email, LEOC also includes representation from the Conservative Party’s National Council, the Conservative Party Caucus and Conservative Fund Canada.

Chosen by National Council, those members are:

National Council 

Kevin Price
Valerie Assouline
Shir Barzilay
Steven Dollansky
David Connelly


Hon. Diane Finley, MP
Senator Don Plett

Conservative Fund Canada

Senator Linda Frum

Ex-Officio – President of National Council

Scott Lamb